Deutsche Statistische Gesellschaft
 Deutsch | English
Members section


The Board plans and coordinates all of the activities of the society. They determine the budget, organize the member meetings and take care of individual questions of fundamental importance if they are not reserved for the member meetings or affect the entirety of the members.

The Board consists of the Chairman, six other board members elected by the entirety of members of the Society for a four-year cycle and up to two members, who can be additionally elected by the board, as well as the treasurer and the editor of the General Statistical Archives, AStA. The Treasurer and the Editors are appointed by the remaining members of the board. These arrangements provide an appropriate representation of all major disciplines.

A re-election as Chairman and a re-election of another board member are only possible once.  

The Chairman is responsible for the company's business and represents this externally. He prepares the board meetings, leads the meetings of the General Assembly and keeps the members informed by distributing a newsletter on a regular basis. The Chairman is supported by an office which has a seat at the place of business of the Chairman. The Managing Director is employed on a proposal of the Chairman to the Board.

Board Members of the German Statistical Society

(As of October 2016)

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schmid
European University Viadrina

Prof. Dr. Yarema Okhrin
University of Augsburg
(Deputy Chairman)
(Publisher of AStA - Advances in Statistical Analysis)

Peter Schmidt
Federal Statistical Office
(Deputy Chairman)

Philipp Otto
European University Viadrina

Prof. Dr. Roland Fried
Technical University Dortmund
Prof. Dr. Thomas Kneib
Georg August University Göttingen

Prof. Dr. Ralf Münnich
University Trier
Prof. Dr. Ulrike Rockmann
Senate of the Interior and Sport Berlin
Prof. Dr. Philipp Sibbertsen
Leibniz University Hannover
Jürgen Wayand
State Office of Statistics Bremen

Prof. Dr. Göran Kauermann
Ludwig Maximilians University Munich

(Publisher of AStA - Advances in Statistical Analysis)

Prof. Dr. Timo Schmid
Free University of Berlin
(Publisher of AStA - Economic and Social Archive)

Prof. Dr. Markus Zwick
Federal Statistical Office 
(Publisher of AStA - Economic and Social Archive)

The extended executive board includes the committee chairs (Opens internal link in current windowMore).